~Walter H Burt~Post 30~Albany,Ga.~

For God and Country

The four pillars of the American Legion represent its core values and mission. Through these pillars, the American Legion strives to uphold its Motto.

The American Legion is a patriotic organization that serves veterans, active-duty military personnel, and their families. The American Legion was founded in 1919 by veterans of World War I who wanted to continue their service to the nation and their comrades. The American Legion has four pillars that guide its activities and programs: Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation, National Security, Americanism, and Children & Youth.

The first pillar, Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation, focuses on providing assistance and advocacy for veterans and their families. The American Legion helps veterans access the benefits and services they earned through their military service, such as health care, education, disability compensation, and pensions. The American Legion also supports veterans’ homes, hospitals, and cemeteries, and offers programs for homeless, injured, and disabled veterans. The American Legion also promotes legislation and policies that protect and improve the rights and welfare of veterans and their families.

The second pillar, National Security, reflects the American Legion’s commitment to a strong national defense and a peaceful world. The American Legion supports the men and women who serve in the armed forces and their families and honors those who made the ultimate sacrifice for freedom. The American Legion also advocates for a well-equipped and well-trained military, a robust homeland security system, and a sound foreign policy that promotes democracy and human rights. The American Legion also fosters international cooperation and goodwill through various programs, such as the American Legion Boys State and Boys Nation, the National High School Oratorical Contest, and the Youth Cadet Law Enforcement Program.

The third pillar, Americanism, expresses the American Legion’s devotion to the ideals and values of the United States of America. The American Legion promotes patriotism, citizenship, and respect for the flag and the Constitution. The American Legion also educates the public about the history and significance of American symbols and holidays, such as the Pledge of Allegiance, the Star-Spangled Banner, Veterans Day, Memorial Day, Flag Day, and Independence Day. The American Legion also opposes illegal immigration and amnesty for illegal aliens but fully supports opportunities for legal immigration.

The fourth pillar, Children & Youth, demonstrates the American Legion’s concern for the well-being and future of America’s young people. The American Legion sponsors various programs that help children and youth develop their physical, mental, moral, and social skills. Some of these programs include the American Legion Baseball, the Junior Shooting Sports Program, the Child Welfare Foundation, the Family Support Network, and the Temporary Financial Assistance Program. The American Legion also supports other organizations that serve children and youth, such as the Special Olympics, the Boy Scouts of America, the Girl Scouts of America, and the Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

The four pillars of the American Legion represent its core values and mission. Through these pillars, the American Legion strives to uphold its Motto:

For God and Country

For any Website Issues/Suggestions                    

  Home Page